ESG SEC Sri Lanka reviews mandatory ESG disclosure timeline  |  CSR Dialog Axiata expands digital literacy programme to 50,000 students  |  POLICY CBSL Sustainable Finance Roadmap: Q2 2026 update  |  DATA 47 CSE-listed companies now publish standalone sustainability reports  |  ESG SEC Sri Lanka reviews mandatory ESG disclosure timeline  |  CSR Dialog Axiata expands digital literacy programme to 50,000 students  |  POLICY CBSL Sustainable Finance Roadmap: Q2 2026 update  |  DATA 47 CSE-listed companies now publish standalone sustainability reports  | 
Company Profile  ·  Banking & Financial Services  ·  ~8 min read

Sampath Bank: A First Mandatory SLFRS Filing That Discloses Its Footprint — but Not Yet Its Portfolio

Sampath Bank’s FY2025 integrated report is one of Sri Lanka’s first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 filings — reported “in accordance with” the standards, independently assured, and featuring a third-party-verified greenhouse-gas inventory. We assess what that disclosure does and does not contain: the frontier is the emissions line that matters most for a bank — those it finances.
Why we profiled this company
ESGNexus profiles Sri Lanka’s major companies sequenced by their sectors’ contribution to GDP; this first cohort are the economy’s largest contributors. Sampath Bank enters as one of the country’s largest licensed commercial banks and a first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 cohort filer (December year-end). It is not the Banking sector’s largest by market capitalisation — that is Commercial Bank of Ceylon — and is profiled here as a leading bank entering the mandatory disclosure regime, not as the sector leader. Economic weight sets the queue; the quality of sustainability disclosure is the assessment.

Snapshot

CompanySampath Bank PLC (SAMP.N0000) — incorporated in Sri Lanka, 10 March 1986
SectorBanking & Financial Services (Licensed Commercial Bank)
Market-cap rank in sectorNot the sector’s largest — that is Commercial Bank of Ceylon (first Sri Lankan bank past US$1 Bn market cap; Business Today Top-40 #1, 2024/25). Sampath is among the largest licensed commercial banks; profiled as a first mandatory SLFRS cohort filer.
Financial year coveredFY2025 (1 Jan – 31 Dec 2025) — first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 period
Reporting frameworksSLFRS S1 & S2 (“in accordance with”, with transition reliefs); GRI Standards; SASB (Commercial Banks); Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework; GHG Protocol; UN SDGs; UNGC
External assuranceErnst & Young — limited assurance on the SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures (pp.70–100). GHG Inventory Report 2025 — reasonable assurance by Sri Lanka Climate Fund (ISO 14064-1:2018, Opinion SLCF/CFP/0476)
Materiality processDouble materiality (impact + financial); annual, refined in 2025; stakeholder prioritisation matrix + survey; 11 material topics; approved by ESG Committee, Corporate Management and the Board Sustainability Committee (pp.54–57)
Scope 1 & 2 emissions6,763 tCO₂e FY2025 (Scope 1: 1,069; Scope 2: 5,694); intensity 1.38 tCO₂e/employee; GHG Protocol / ISO 14064-1:2018, reasonable assurance (p.178)
Scope 3 / financed emissionsOperational Scope 3 disclosed — 6,313 tCO₂e (Total GHG 13,075 tCO₂e). Financed emissions — the material Scope 3 for a bank — explicitly deferred to FY2027 (PCAF partnership initiated 2025)
Climate scenario analysisPartially performed — IPCC RCP8.5/RCP2.6 pathways applied qualitatively to physical risk; NGFS scenarios named for planned stress-testing; formal resilience assessment deferred under transition relief (§2.3.10)
Net-zero / carbon targetNo Bank-specific net-zero target; aligns to national Net-zero 2050 and NDC 3.0 (20.09% GHG cut by 2035; 70% renewable power by 2030). FY2026 operational targets set (base year 2025). Head Office certified Carbon Neutral
Board climate governance / ESG oversightBoard Sustainability Committee (dedicated report, p.285; Chairperson interview p.66); ESG Committee; CRRO framework; ESG-linked KPIs for Executive Directors
Board independence11 directors (2 executive, 9 non-executive); 7 independent (63.6% of board; 78% of NEDs); female board representation 27% → 18% at year-end; female Managing Director/CEO
CSR commitmentRs 125 Mn total investment in CSR initiatives, FY2025 (p.144); no fixed %-of-profit commitment stated
ESGNexus disclosure assessmentComprehensive 6.5 / 7 (0.93), Methodology v1.0. A strong first mandatory SLFRS filing with assured GHG metrics; the frontier is financed emissions (deferred to FY2027) and scenario-analysis resilience (only partially performed).
Sources: Sampath Bank PLC 12th Integrated Annual Report 2025 (year ended 31 December 2025); Sri Lanka Climate Fund GHG verification opinion SLCF/CFP/0476; Ernst & Young limited assurance report (pp.68–69).
Key takeaways
— Sampath’s FY2025 report is a first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 filing — reported “in accordance with” the standards and limited-assured by Ernst & Young — placing it in the first mandatory cohort, not the voluntary era.
— Its greenhouse-gas inventory carries reasonable (ISO 14064-1:2018) assurance from the Sri Lanka Climate Fund: Scope 1+2 of 6,763 tCO₂e and operational Scope 3 of 6,313 tCO₂e (Total 13,075 tCO₂e) are third-party verified — a higher assurance level than the report as a whole.
— The emissions line that matters most for a bank — financed emissions — is not yet quantified. It is explicitly deferred to FY2027 under a PCAF partnership. Until then the disclosed footprint is the Bank’s own operations, not its lending book.
— Climate scenario analysis is only partially performed: IPCC RCP pathways frame physical risk qualitatively, but the resilience/stress-test assessment (NGFS) is deferred under transition relief.
— Grade: Comprehensive, 6.5/7 (0.93) — on the seven-criterion checklist, the strongest ESGNexus disclosure grade recorded to date, driven by integration, assured metrics and a documented double-materiality process.
For a bank, the sustainability question is not how much carbon its branches emit — it is how much sits within its loan book. Sampath Bank’s FY2025 integrated report answers the first question with unusual rigour and, candidly, defers the second. That single distinction defines both the strength and the frontier of this disclosure.
This is a first mandatory filing. Sri Lanka’s adoption of SLFRS S1 and S2 makes sustainability-related financial disclosure compulsory for the first annual period beginning on or after 1 January 2025 for the top-cohort of listed companies. Sampath, a December-year-end company, crosses that threshold with its FY2025 report — and it does so by reporting “in accordance with” the standards rather than merely “with reference to” them, with independent assurance. That is a materially stronger position than most Sri Lankan corporates occupied a year ago.
This profile assesses the quality of the disclosure — whether the report meets the requirements of SLFRS S1 and S2 — not the company’s underlying sustainability performance, which no published report can certify. It is based on the 12th Integrated Annual Report 2025 and the independent assurance reports published alongside it. Every finding below concerns what the report does and does not say.

The Business, Briefly

Sampath Bank PLC is a licensed commercial bank, incorporated in 1986 and listed on the Colombo Stock Exchange (SAMP.N0000). It operates a nationwide network of nearly 1,000 physical touchpoints, has a total loan portfolio of Rs 1,224 Bn and a workforce of 4,917. It reported a profit after tax of Rs 32.6 Bn and a return on equity of 17.9% for FY2025, with a total capital ratio of 17.65%. It is not the largest bank on the CSE by market capitalisation — Commercial Bank of Ceylon holds that position — but it is systemically significant and, as a first mandatory-cohort filer, an instructive early test of how Sri Lankan banks will meet the new regime.
Source: Sampath Bank PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (performance highlights; ESG scorecard pp.47–49).

Disclosure and Frameworks

The report is Sampath’s 12th integrated annual report, and the SLFRS S1 & S2 disclosures are not bolted on — they occupy a dedicated, structured section (pp.70–100) built around the four pillars of governance, strategy, risk management, and metrics & targets, and cross-referenced to the six-capitals model that organises the rest of the document. The Bank reports against the GRI Standards, the SASB Commercial Banks standard, and the Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework alongside SLFRS.
The materiality process is described in concrete terms rather than merely asserted. The Bank applies a double-materiality lens — screening topics first for impact materiality, then for financial materiality — and refined the methodology in 2025, with the resulting 11 material topics approved by its ESG Committee, Corporate Management, and the Board Sustainability Committee (pp.54–57). This is the kind of visible work that separates a disclosure from a claim.
Assurance is layered, and the layering matters. Ernst & Young provides limited assurance on the SLFRS sustainability-related financial disclosures for the year ended 31 December 2025 — a negative-form conclusion that it is “not aware of any material modifications” needed. Separately, at a higher level, the FY2025 GHG Inventory is subject to reasonable assurance by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund under ISO 14064-1:2018. A bank whose emissions figures have undergone reasonable assurance is disclosing on firmer ground than one relying on self-declaration.
Source: Sampath Bank PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (pp.68–70, 54–57).

Environmental

The verified greenhouse-gas picture is the report’s strongest environmental disclosure. Operational Scope 1 emissions were 1,069 tCO₂e, and Scope 2 were 5,694 tCO₂e, for a combined operational footprint of 6,763 tCO₂e in FY2025 (intensity 1.38 tCO₂e per employee), broadly flat on the prior year. Operational Scope 3 — other indirect emissions — is also quantified at 6,313 tCO₂e, bringing total verified emissions to 13,075 tCO₂e. All of this is assured to ISO 14064-1:2018.
The decisive absence is financed emissions. For a lender, financed emissions typically dwarf operational emissions by orders of magnitude — and they are not yet disclosed. Sampath states this plainly: it has taken the transition relief permitted under SLFRS S2, partnered with the Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF), and set FY2027 as the year it will disclose financed emissions. That is an explicit, dated deferral rather than a silent gap — the honest way to handle it — but readers should be clear that the disclosed footprint today captures the Bank’s operations, not the emissions enabled by its capital.
On the wider environmental ledger, the Bank reports head-office electricity consumption of 11,860 GJ (down 5.72%, though the energy boundary is head-office only), 853,710 kWh of solar generation across its branch estate, 31,823 kg of paper recycled, and a Head Office certified as carbon neutral. On the financing side — arguably where a bank’s environmental leverage is greatest — it disclosed Rs 6,165 Mn of renewable-energy project finance (across 16 projects) and Rs 10.9 Bn of electric and hybrid vehicle financing.
Source: Sampath Bank PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (Natural Capital pp.169–178; ESG scorecard p.47).

Social

Sampath employs 4,917 people, with women accounting for roughly 45% of the workforce and an entry-level pay ratio of 1:1 between men and women. The Bank reports 357,255 total training hours (73 hours per employee on average, up 62% year on year) and a Rs 206 Mn investment in training and professional development. It discloses parental-leave uptake and return-to-work data by gender and candidly flags that attrition remained elevated during the year. Community investment is reported at Rs 125 Mn for FY2025, spanning entrepreneurship, biodiversity and livelihood programmes such as Wewata Jeewayak (Rs 64 Mn), though no fixed percentage-of-profit CSR commitment is stated.
Source: Sampath Bank PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (Human & Social Capital pp.131–144; ESG scorecard pp.48–49).

Governance

The Board comprises 11 directors — two executive and nine non-executive — of whom seven are independent, giving an overall board independence of 63.6% and 78% of non-executive directors. The Bank is led by a female Managing Director/CEO. However, female representation at board level moved in the other direction during the year, falling from three directors (27%) to two (18%) with effect from 24 September 2025 — a decline the report discloses rather than obscures. Climate and sustainability oversight is concrete: a dedicated Board Sustainability Committee (with its own report at p.285 and a Chairperson interview at p.66), a management-level ESG Committee, a Climate-Related Risks and Opportunities framework, and ESG-linked KPIs for executive directors. Board meetings numbered 15, with full attendance thresholds met, and the Bank reports zero data-privacy incidents.
Source: Sampath Bank PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (Corporate Governance report pp.234–235; ESG scorecard p.49; Board Sustainability Committee report p.285).

How We Assess the Disclosure

ESGNexus grades disclosure completeness against a published, equal-weighted, page-referenced checklist of seven criteria drawn from SLFRS S1 and S2 (Disclosure Grading Methodology v1.0). We assess what the report does and does not disclose — not the company’s underlying performance. Each criterion is scored Present (1), Partial (0.5) or Absent (0), or N/A where it genuinely does not apply. The full checklist below is reproducible: the same report and this rubric should yield the same result.
#Criterion (SLFRS S1/S2)ScoreBasis — what the report does or does not disclose
1Materiality assessment disclosed, with method shownPresent (1)Double-materiality process (impact then financial); annual, refined 2025; stakeholder prioritisation matrix and survey; 11 topics board-approved (pp.54–57).
2Scope 1 and Scope 2 GHG emissions quantified, with methodologyPresent (1)Scope 1 1,069 + Scope 2 5,694 = 6,763 tCO₂e FY2025; GHG Protocol; ISO 14064-1:2018 reasonable assurance by Sri Lanka Climate Fund (p.178).
3Scope 3 / financed emissions disclosed or explicitly deferredPresent (1)Operational Scope 3 disclosed and verified (6,313 tCO₂e; Total 13,075 tCO₂e); financed emissions explicitly deferred to FY2027 via PCAF partnership (p.178; pp.70–100).
4Climate scenario analysis actually performedPartial (0.5)RCP8.5/RCP2.6 pathways applied qualitatively to physical risk; NGFS scenarios named for planned stress-testing; formal resilience assessment deferred under transition relief (§2.3.10; pp.75–77).
5Board-level climate governance described concretelyPresent (1)Board Sustainability Committee (report p.285); ESG Committee; CRRO framework; ESG-linked executive KPIs (pp.70–72, 285).
6Quantified targets with baseline year and target datePresent (1)FY2026 climate targets (§5.3, p.100): rooftop solar in five branches (Scope 2 cut) and 50% renewable-financing growth; base year 2025; documented target-setting process.
7Integration: mainstream financial report vs. quarantined standalone CSR sectionPresent (1)12th Integrated Annual Report; SLFRS S1/S2 embedded (pp.70–100) within a six-capitals model incl. Natural Capital; ESG integrated into strategy, credit and ICAAP.
Total: 6.5 / 7 = 0.93 → Comprehensive.
A “Comprehensive” band means the report discloses the required elements; it is not a statement that the company asserts, or has been certified for, full SLFRS S1 & S2 compliance. The frontier is climate scenario-analysis resilience (only partially performed) and financed emissions (deferred to FY2027) — both under permitted transition reliefs. Sampath reports “in accordance with” the standards using transition reliefs, assured at limited level, with a reasonable-assured GHG inventory.
Alongside the checklist, we characterise the disclosure on four qualitative dimensions — completeness, comparability, credibility and candour — each rated against cited evidence. These carry the nuances the checklist score does not, including the qualified compliance basis.
DimensionAssessmentBasis (as disclosed)
CompletenessSolidE, S and G covered with multi-year data across six capitals; Scope 1, 2 and operational Scope 3 quantified. The largest bank emissions category — financed emissions — is not yet quantified (deferred to FY2027) (pp.70–100, 169+).
ComparabilitySolidReports “in accordance with” SLFRS S1/S2 plus GRI, SASB (Commercial Banks) and <IR>; three-year comparatives in the ESG scorecard. The financed-emissions gap limits emissions comparability against peers (pp.47–49, 70).
CredibilitySolidReasonable (ISO 14064-1:2018) assurance on the GHG inventory by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund; EY limited assurance on the SLFRS disclosures; documented double-materiality. Broader disclosures remain limited-assured (pp.68–69).
CandourSolidDiscloses the transition reliefs taken, the dated financed-emissions deferral, incomplete scenario analysis, the fall in female board representation, and elevated attrition — gaps are named, not buried (pp.70–100; Human Capital report).

Where the Disclosure Leads — and Where It Lags

Where it leads: Sampath has treated the first mandatory year as an opportunity to disclose properly rather than minimally. The report integrates SLFRS into a mature six-capitals framework, describes a genuine double-materiality process, and — unusually for the market — subjects its greenhouse-gas figures to reasonable assurance. It reports “in accordance with” the standards, not merely “with reference to” them. On the seven-criterion checklist, these strengths are decisive.
Where it lags: the two gaps are the most significant for a bank, and both stem from transition relief. Financed emissions — the portfolio’s carbon — remain unquantified until FY2027, so the disclosed footprint materially understates the Bank’s true climate exposure; the PCAF partnership is the right vehicle, but analysts need the number. Climate scenario analysis is only partially performed: the Bank uses IPCC RCP pathways to describe physical risk but defers the resilience assessment and NGFS stress-testing that would show whether its loan book can withstand a disorderly transition. Neither gap is hidden — both are disclosed with dates attached — but a Comprehensive grade on disclosure completeness should not be read as a finding that Sampath’s climate position is fully mapped. It is not yet; by the Bank’s own timetable, it will be over the next two reporting cycles.

What This Means for Investors and Analysts

For an analyst covering Sri Lankan banks, Sampath’s FY2025 report sets an early benchmark for what mandatory SLFRS reporting can look like: assured metrics, a documented materiality process, and integrated governance. But the investment-relevant climate metric — financed emissions — is not on the table until FY2027, and until then, cross-bank comparison of climate exposure remains impossible on a like-for-like basis. The right posture is to credit the disclosure quality now, hold the Bank to its FY2027 financed-emissions commitment and its NGFS scenario-analysis timetable, and treat the current footprint as operational-only. For peers still reporting “with reference to” SLFRS, Sampath is a useful demonstration that “in accordance with” — assurance included — was achievable in year one.
The largest company is not automatically the best discloser, and the best discloser is not automatically the best governed — ESGNexus scores disclosure, not reputation.

Sources & Further Reading

Sampath Bank PLC, 12th Integrated Annual Report 2025 (year ended 31 December 2025) — SLFRS S1 & S2 disclosures pp.70–100; materiality pp.54–57; Natural Capital pp.169+; Board Sustainability Committee report p.285 — sampath.lk.
Sri Lanka Climate Fund, Independent GHG Verification Opinion SLCF/CFP/0476 (ISO 14064-1:2018), dated 27 January 2026 — as cited in the FY2025 report (p.178).
Ernst & Young, Independent Practitioner’s Limited Assurance Report on the SLFRS Sustainability-Related Financial Disclosures, Sampath Bank PLC FY2025 (pp.68–69).
Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC — market-capitalisation basis for the sector-leader comparison (first Sri Lankan bank to exceed US$1 Bn market cap; Business Today Top-40 ranking 2024/25) — combank.lk.
CA Sri Lanka — SLFRS S1 & S2 Sustainability Disclosure Standards — casrilanka.com.
ESGNexus — Disclosure Grading Methodology v1.0 — esgnexus.lk.
About ESGNexus
ESGNexus is Sri Lanka’s independent platform for ESG, CSR, and sustainability intelligence. We track company-level ESG performance, regulatory developments, and sustainability data across Sri Lanka’s listed companies, large unlisted corporates, and state-owned enterprises. All editorial content is independently produced. Sponsored content is clearly labelled.
Data disclaimer: This profile is compiled from Sampath Bank PLC’s publicly available reports and other public sources, for general information only. It is not investment advice and not a comprehensive audit of the company’s sustainability performance. ESGNexus does not independently verify company disclosures; figures are as reported by the company and its assurance provider(s). Assessments reflect the quality of disclosure, not a certification of underlying performance. ESGNexus corrects errors promptly; to flag one, contact the editorial team. Errors and omissions excepted.
Share this articleLinkedInWhatsAppXEmail

Discover more from ESGNexus

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Stay ahead of Sri Lanka's ESG agenda

Join sustainability officers, investors, and policy professionals who read The ESGNexus Weekly every Friday.