Company Profile · Telecommunications · ~8 min read
Dialog Axiata PLC: Telecommunications Sustainability Profile
Sri Lanka’s largest listed telecommunications group is in the first mandatory cohort for the country’s new sustainability-disclosure standards. Its 2025 reporting is externally assured and quantifies emissions across all three scopes — yet it applies SLFRS S1 and S2 on a “with reference to” basis, without an unreserved statement of compliance. This profile assesses the completeness, comparability, credibility and candour of that disclosure.
Why we profiled this company
ESGNexus profiles the largest CSE-listed company, by market capitalisation, in each of Sri Lanka’s major economic sectors, sequenced by contribution to GDP. In telecommunications, that company is Dialog Axiata PLC. Market capitalisation sets the queue; the quality of sustainability disclosure is the assessment.
| Snapshot — Dialog Axiata PLC | |
|---|---|
| Company | Dialog Axiata PLC (DIAL.N0000) |
| Sector | Telecommunications |
| Market-cap rank in sector | #1 in telecommunications; among the top five listed companies on the CSE by market capitalisation. Mandatory-cohort status set by market-cap rank as at 1 Jan 2025. Reported market cap Rs. 274.2 Bn (31 Dec 2025, AR2025 p.72); refresh live figure from cse.lk at publication. |
| Financial year covered | FY2025 (year ended 31 December 2025) |
| Reporting frameworks | GRI Standards (in accordance with); SLFRS S1 & S2 (with reference to); SASB; GSMA Sustainability Standards; TNFD (“Locate” phase); Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework; UN SDGs |
| External assurance | Yes — limited assurance, Deloitte Partners Sri Lanka (SLSAE 3000), over selected sustainability disclosures (pp.311–312). Excludes forward-looking information. |
| Materiality process | Described; guided by SLFRS S1 and GRI 3: Material Topics 2021; SRRO/CRRO framework. Independent facilitation not evidenced. |
| Scope 1 emissions | 3,680 tCO₂e (2025) — down 46% YoY |
| Scope 2 emissions | 111,066 tCO₂e (2025) — up ~5% YoY |
| Scope 3 emissions | 17,113 tCO₂e (2025) — up ~5% YoY (GSMA basis; categories not enumerated) |
| Climate scenario analysis | Not disclosed — climate risks identified across time horizons (TCFD-style), but no scenario analysis with stated scenarios (criterion 4) |
| Net-zero / carbon target | Net Zero by 2050; Board-approved roadmap; 2022 base year; aligned to Axiata Group’s SBTi-approved targets; interim milestones to 2030 |
| Board independence | 3 of 9 directors independent (33%); 8 non-executive and 1 executive (GCEO), p.149. The report’s own NED sub-totals (3 independent + 6 non-independent) do not reconcile with its stated 8 non-executive total — a data-quality point in the disclosure itself. |
| ESG board oversight | Board Risk and Compliance Committee (BRCC) — reviews sustainability risks/opportunities quarterly (pp.155–156) |
| CSR commitment | Rs. 446 Mn community investment (2025); no fixed % commitment stated |
| Disclosure assessment | Comprehensive 6 of 7 criteria (Methodology v1.0) — externally assured, multi-framework disclosure with complete Scope 1–3 reporting; the one gap is climate scenario analysis, and SLFRS S1/S2 is applied on a qualified “with reference to” basis rather than an unreserved compliance statement. |
Figures as reported by the company; see disclaimer. Emissions on the GSMA basis per the assured sustainability content index.
Key takeaways
- Dialog is in the FY2025 mandatory cohort — the top 100 CSE main-board companies by market capitalisation required to report under SLFRS S1 and S2. As one of the top five listed companies on the exchange, its inclusion is not in doubt.
- The disclosure is externally assured. Deloitte Partners provided limited assurance over selected sustainability disclosures — a credibility marker many listed issuers still lack.
- All three emissions scopes are quantified. Scope 1 fell 46% to 3,680 tCO₂e; Scope 2 (111,066 tCO₂e) and Scope 3 (17,113 tCO₂e) each rose about 5%. The company discloses the increases, not only the reduction.
- The headline gap is a claim, not a number. Dialog reports “in accordance with” GRI but only “with reference to” SLFRS S1 and S2. For a mandatory-cohort company, the absence of an unreserved SLFRS S1 compliance statement is the single most important feature of this report.
- Board independence is one-third. Three of nine directors are independent (33%); the rest are non-independent, reflecting a controlling parent. Sustainability oversight sits with the Board Risk and Compliance Committee, which reviews sustainability risks quarterly.
The Disclosure Question
From FY2025, Sri Lanka’s largest listed companies are no longer choosing whether to report on sustainability the way the country’s new standards require — they are required to. Dialog Axiata PLC sits squarely inside that first mandatory cohort. The question this profile answers is not whether Dialog discloses, but how completely, how credibly, and with what candour — and whether its reporting meets the standard it is now bound by.
On the substance, Dialog’s 2025 integrated report is one of the more complete on the exchange: a paragraph-level SLFRS S1 and S2 content index, external limited assurance, and quantified emissions across all three scopes. On the claim it makes about its own compliance, it is more careful — and that gap between substance and claim is the story.
The Business, Briefly
Dialog Axiata PLC is Sri Lanka’s largest telecommunications group and a subsidiary of Axiata Group Berhad of Malaysia. In FY2025, it served a subscriber base of 22.3 million (up 2.5%), grew group revenue by 4.9%, and reported company (mobile) revenue of Rs. 135.8 billion — roughly 76% of group revenue. Normalised group net profit after tax was about Rs. 22.1 billion, and the group remitted Rs. 54.7 billion to state revenues. Its infrastructure footprint — 5,509 network sites, some 6,872 km of fibre, and 1,067 solar-powered sites — is both the source of its emissions profile and the lever for reducing it. By market capitalisation, it ranks among the top five listed companies on the Colombo Stock Exchange, which is what places it in the first SLFRS S1/S2 cohort.
Disclosure & Frameworks
This is the core of the profile, and where Dialog is strongest and most nuanced. The report is built against an unusually broad set of recognised frameworks: the GRI Standards, SLFRS S1 and S2, SASB, the GSMA Sustainability Standards, the TNFD (at its “Locate” phase), the Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework, and the UN SDGs. Crucially, it carries a full paragraph-to-page content index for SLFRS S1 and S2 — mapping governance (pp.171–174), strategy (pp.185–192), risk management (pp.175–192) and metrics and targets (pp.302–306) to specific disclosures. That index is not decorative; it is the architecture of a company reporting to the standard, not gesturing at it.
Two words carry the assessment. Dialog states it has reported “in accordance with” the GRI Standards (Statement of Use, p.291) — GRI’s higher, full-adoption tier. But every reference to the new national standards — in the basis of preparation and in the independent assurance conclusion — is framed “with reference to” SLFRS S1 and S2 (pp.311–312). There is no unreserved statement of compliance with SLFRS S1 anywhere in the report.
“For a mandatory-cohort company, the distance between ‘with reference to’ and ‘in accordance with’ is the distance between substantial alignment and asserted compliance. Dialog has built the former; it has not yet claimed the latter.”
Under SLFRS S1, a full-adoption reporter makes an explicit, unreserved statement of compliance. “With reference to” is the qualifier that signals partial application — the same phrasing used to bundle a mixed set of frameworks under a single limited-assurance conclusion. That is a legitimate way to report in a phase-in year. But it means readers cannot yet treat Dialog’s sustainability statements as a full-compliance baseline, and it is the first thing a regulator or an investor comparing across years should note. Materiality is described and guided by SLFRS S1 and GRI 3: Material Topics 2021; the report does not evidence independent facilitation of that process.
Assurance is a genuine strength — and a bounded one. Deloitte Partners Sri Lanka provided limited assurance under SLSAE 3000 over selected sustainability disclosures (pp.311–312). Limited assurance is materially less rigorous than reasonable assurance, and the engagement explicitly excludes forward-looking and prospective information, which is precisely where the net-zero targets sit.
Environmental
Dialog quantifies emissions across all three scopes on the GSMA basis (2025): Scope 1 of 3,680 tCO₂e, down 46% year-on-year; Scope 2 of 111,066 tCO₂e, up about 5%; and Scope 3 of 17,113 tCO₂e, up about 5%. Disclosing Scope 3 at all puts Dialog ahead of many listed issuers; the limitation is that the report does not enumerate which Scope 3 categories are captured, so the completeness of value-chain coverage cannot be independently assessed. (A minor inconsistency exists between the narrative emissions figures and the assured content-index figures; the assured index values are used here.)
On the transition, renewable energy reached 6,090 MWh, lifting the renewable contribution to operations to 2.45% (from a prior “N/A”), supported by 1,067 solar-powered network sites. Water consumption was 46,400 m³, and the group runs an e-waste programme. The headline target is a Board-approved Net Zero ambition by 2050, built on a 2022 base year and aligned to the Axiata group’s SBTi-approved targets, with interim milestones through 2030 — a dated, science-aligned target rather than an open-ended aspiration. Note that the assurance does not extend to these forward-looking figures.
Social
Dialog reports a workforce of 2,865 (2025) and mandatory anti-bribery and corruption training coverage across active employees. Turnover is disclosed at a granular level, including 14 terminations during the year (seven male, seven female) — the kind of specificity that marks fuller social disclosure. Community investment was Rs. 446 million in 2025, a marked increase from the Rs. 100 million and Rs. 127 million of the two prior years, reflecting cyclone-response and digital-inclusion activity during the year. The company does not state a fixed percentage-of-profit CSR commitment; the disclosure is of absolute spend. Workforce diversity and health-and-safety data are disclosed within the report’s people and GRI sections; where specific figures are not broken out, that absence is itself the finding rather than a gap to be filled by estimate.
Governance
As at 31 December 2025, the Board comprised nine directors: eight non-executive and one executive (the Group CEO). The company states three are independent non-executive directors — a board that is one-third independent — and that the composition complies with the CSE Listing Rules. (The report also states six non-independent non-executive directors; that figure, added to the three independent, implies nine non-executives against a stated eight, so its board sub-totals do not fully reconcile — a small data-quality point in the disclosure itself, not in the headline independence ratio.) The predominance of non-independent seats reflects Dialog’s status as a subsidiary of a controlling parent; it is a well-disclosed structural feature, not a hidden one. Sustainability governance is anchored in the Board Charter, under which the Board retains overall accountability for sustainability-related risks and opportunities, with the Board Risk and Compliance Committee reviewing them quarterly and escalating to the Board (pp.155–156). Supporting policies on anti-bribery and corruption, whistle-blowing and corporate disclosures are in place.
How We Assess the Disclosure
ESGNexus grades disclosure completeness against a published, equal-weighted, page-referenced checklist of seven criteria drawn from SLFRS S1 and S2 (Disclosure Grading Methodology v1.0). We assess what the report does and does not disclose — not the company’s underlying performance. Each criterion is marked Present, Partial or Absent (or N/A where it genuinely does not apply); the score is elements present divided by applicable elements, mapped to a band. The full checklist below is reproducible: the same report and this rubric should yield the same result.
| # | Criterion | Score | Basis (as disclosed) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Materiality assessment disclosed, with method shown | Present (1) | Material topics determined under SLFRS S1 and GRI 3: Material Topics 2021; a stakeholder workshop and a prioritised topic list are described (material-topics section, AR2025). Independent facilitation is not evidenced. |
| 2 | Scope 1 and Scope 2 GHG emissions quantified, with methodology | Present (1) | Scope 1 (3,680 tCO₂e) and Scope 2 (111,066 tCO₂e) quantified on the GSMA basis, per the assured sustainability content index (p.129/136). |
| 3 | Scope 3 / financed emissions disclosed or explicitly deferred | Present (1) | Scope 3 disclosed (17,113 tCO₂e, GSMA basis, p.129/136). The report does not enumerate which Scope 3 categories are captured, so value-chain completeness cannot be independently assessed. |
| 4 | Climate scenario analysis actually performed | Absent (0) | Climate-related risks are identified across short, medium and long-term horizons with financial-impact channels (TCFD-style), and “scenario-based assessments” are referenced as a risk tool — but no scenario analysis with stated scenarios (e.g. temperature pathways) or disclosed resilience testing is presented (full-text verified). |
| 5 | Board-level climate governance described concretely | Present (1) | Board Charter accountability for sustainability-related risks and opportunities; the Board Risk and Compliance Committee reviews them quarterly, with a defined CxO-to-GCEO reporting line (pp.155–156, 171–174). |
| 6 | Quantified targets with baseline year and target date | Present (1) | Net Zero by 2050 on a 2022 base year with interim milestones to 2030, aligned to the Axiata group’s SBTi-approved targets (GHG targets, AR2025). |
| 7 | Integration: mainstream financial report vs. quarantined standalone CSR section | Present (1) | Disclosures sit within the Integrated Annual Report, mapped by a paragraph-level SLFRS S1/S2 content index across governance, strategy, risk and metrics (pp.291, 302–306) — not a bolt-on CSR chapter. |
Total: 6 / 7 = 0.86 → Comprehensive.
A “Comprehensive” band means the report discloses the required elements; it is not a statement that the company asserts full SLFRS S1 compliance — Dialog reports “with reference to,” not “in accordance with.” The single gap is climate scenario analysis (criterion 4).
Alongside the checklist, we characterise the disclosure on four qualitative dimensions — completeness, comparability, credibility and candour — each rated against cited evidence. These carry the nuances the checklist score does not, including the qualified compliance basis.
| Dimension | Assessment | Basis (as disclosed) |
|---|---|---|
| Completeness | Solid | E, S and G all covered with quantified data; full Scope 1, 2 and 3 disclosed (p.129/136). Capped by Scope 3 categories not being enumerated for a value chain of this breadth. |
| Comparability | Leading | Reports against GRI, SLFRS S1 & S2, SASB, GSMA, TNFD and the <IR> Framework with paragraph-level content indices and prior-year comparatives; 2022 SBTi base year. Capped by the “with reference to” SLFRS basis. |
| Credibility | Solid | External limited assurance by Deloitte Partners (SLSAE 3000, pp.311–312) — above the CSE norm. Capped by limited (not reasonable) assurance and materiality-process independence not evidenced. |
| Candour | Solid | Discloses emissions increases (Scope 2 and 3 up ~5%), not only the Scope 1 fall; qualifies its own SLFRS claim rather than overstating it. Room to self-name limitations more prominently. |
Where the Disclosure Leads — and Where It Lags
Where it leads: substantive participation in the mandatory regime, not a token gesture; external limited assurance; complete Scope 1–3 reporting; a dated, SBTi-aligned Net Zero target; early TNFD adoption; full “in accordance with” GRI reporting; and structured board-level oversight through a committee that reviews sustainability risks quarterly.
Where it lags: the central limitation is that SLFRS S1 and S2 are applied “with reference to” rather than through an unreserved statement of compliance, despite Dialog being in the mandatory cohort. Beyond that, Scope 3 is disclosed, but its categories are not enumerated; a minor inconsistency exists between the narrative and assured emissions figures; the independence of the materiality process is not evidenced; and the assurance is limited rather than reasonable and excludes the forward-looking targets. None of these is a failure of transparency so much as the distance still to travel from strong disclosure to asserted full compliance.
What This Means
- For investors: assured, framework-aligned disclosure with full emissions data is usable input — but treat the qualified SLFRS S1 basis as a caveat when building a year-on-year compliance baseline.
- For the company and its sector: the content-index architecture is already in place. Moving from “with reference to” to an unreserved “in accordance with” statement is the next step in credibility, and, on this evidence, it is within reach.
- For regulators: Dialog is a live example of a mandatory-cohort company adopting the standards substantively but on a qualified basis — directly relevant to how “compliance” is monitored and enforced during the phase-in to 2027.
Sources & Further Reading
Dialog Axiata PLC — Integrated Annual Report 2025 (year ended 31 December 2025): reporting basis and frameworks (p.252); market capitalisation (p.72); board composition (p.149); sustainability governance / BRCC (pp.155–156); emissions (p.129/136); workforce and terminations; SLFRS S1 & S2 content index and independent assurance (pp.291, 302–312).
CA Sri Lanka — SLFRS S1 & S2 implementation roadmap (phased mandatory adoption; the first 100 CSE main-board entities by market capitalisation report from FY2025). Colombo Stock Exchange — Listing Rules on sustainability disclosure and live market-cap data for cohort confirmation.
About ESGNexus
ESGNexus is Sri Lanka’s independent ESG, CSR and sustainability intelligence platform, covering the disclosure practices of the country’s listed companies, large corporates and state-owned enterprises.
Data disclaimer: This profile is compiled from Dialog Axiata PLC’s publicly available reports and other public sources, for general information only. It is not investment advice and not a comprehensive audit of the company’s sustainability performance. ESGNexus does not independently verify company disclosures; figures are as reported by the company. Assessments reflect the quality of disclosure, not a certification of underlying performance. ESGNexus corrects errors promptly; to flag one, contact the editorial team. Errors and omissions excepted.