ESG SEC Sri Lanka reviews mandatory ESG disclosure timeline  |  CSR Dialog Axiata expands digital literacy programme to 50,000 students  |  POLICY CBSL Sustainable Finance Roadmap: Q2 2026 update  |  DATA 47 CSE-listed companies now publish standalone sustainability reports  |  ESG SEC Sri Lanka reviews mandatory ESG disclosure timeline  |  CSR Dialog Axiata expands digital literacy programme to 50,000 students  |  POLICY CBSL Sustainable Finance Roadmap: Q2 2026 update  |  DATA 47 CSE-listed companies now publish standalone sustainability reports  | 
Company Profile  ·  Banking & Financial Services  ·  ~9 min read

Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC: A Disclosure Profile of Sri Lanka’s Largest Private-Sector Bank

In its first mandatory SLFRS year, Commercial Bank puts audited numbers on its own emissions, builds climate risk into the machinery that governs its lending — and, as the standard allows, defers the two hardest disclosures to a later date. This is what a strong first-year filing looks like, and where it stops short.
Why we profiled this company
ESGNexus profiles the largest listed company by market capitalisation in each of Sri Lanka’s major economic sectors, sequenced by the sector’s weight in the economy. In banking and financial services — the largest single sector on the Colombo Stock Exchange by market value — that company is Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC, the largest listed bank in Sri Lanka by market capitalisation and the largest private-sector bank by assets. Market capitalisation sets the queue; the quality of sustainability disclosure is the assessment — here, against the SLFRS S1 and S2 standard, not against any other bank.

Snapshot

CompanyCommercial Bank of Ceylon PLC (CSE: COMB.N0000 voting / COMB.X0000 non-voting; company registration no. PQ 116; incorporated 25 June 1969)
SectorBanking & financial services (Licensed Commercial Bank; largest private-sector bank in Sri Lanka by assets)
Market-cap rank in sector#1 — the largest listed bank in Sri Lanka by market capitalisation. Combined voting and non-voting market cap Rs.327.34bn (~US$1.06bn) at end-2025 — the first Sri Lankan bank to cross US$1bn. (Basis: company investor information / CSE, 2025.)
Financial year coveredCY2025 (year ended 31 December 2025) — the Bank’s first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 reporting period (top-100 CSE entity; standards mandatory for annual periods from 1 January 2025).
Reporting frameworksSLFRS S1 & S2 (“in accordance with,” as issued by CA Sri Lanka); GRI Standards (Comprehensive); Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework; UN SDGs. Double-materiality basis.
External assuranceSplit, and honest about it. Ernst & Young — limited assurance over the SLFRS S1 & S2 disclosures (SLSAE 3000 (Revised); conclusion 27 February 2026). Sri Lanka Climate Fund — reasonable-level verification of the Scope 1 & 2 GHG inventory (ISO 14064-1:2018 / 14064-3:2019, p.163). KPMG — statutory financial audit. No single reasonable-level opinion spans both the narrative and the numbers.
Materiality processDouble materiality. SLFRS S1 financial-materiality principle with quantitative and qualitative thresholds (Table 26); impact materiality mapped alongside. Methodology reviewed and approved at Board / BIRMC level.
Scope 1 & 2 emissionsBank: Scope 1 862 tCO₂e (2024: 630); Scope 2 (location-based) 6,173 tCO₂e (2024: 6,669). Method: GHG Protocol, ISO 14064-1, IPCC AR6, financial-control approach. Verified by Sri Lanka Climate Fund at reasonable level. (Group financial-control total: 7,398 tCO₂e.)
Scope 3 / financed emissionsNot disclosed — explicitly, and with a date. Deferred under SLFRS S2 transitional relief (Appendix C, C4(b); Note 9) for the first two mandatory periods. The Bank joined PCAF in 2025 and has begun establishing a financed-emissions baseline.
Climate scenario analysisNot yet performed. A roadmap is disclosed and the two-year transitional relief applied. Physical-risk (geospatial hazard mapping; World Bank / ThinkHazard!; IFC sector sensitivity) and transition-risk (UNEP FI sector sensitivity) frameworks are in place.
Net-zero / carbon targetA net-zero ambition for the Bank’s own operations (Scope 1 & 2) is stated, but no baseline year or target date is disclosed; carbon-neutral in own operations is claimed since 2020 (company-stated). Separately, a dated business target: a Rs.100bn green-financing portfolio by 2030.
Board climate governance / ESG oversightA Board Sustainability Committee (established 2025) guides sustainability strategy, roadmap, targets and KPIs; the BIRMC oversees climate and E&S risk. Climate risk is integrated into the ICAAP and enterprise risk-management framework.
Board independence11 directors; 9 independent non-executive (81.82%); 2 executive. 3 female directors (27.27%). No single controlling shareholder disclosed.
CSR commitmentNo fixed percentage-of-profit commitment stated; delivered through the Commercial Bank CSR Trust, whose cumulative investment since inception has surpassed Rs.1.4bn (community engagement section).
ESGNexus disclosure assessmentSubstantial 5.0 / 7 (0.71), Methodology v1.1. A strong first-year adoption — materiality method shown, Scope 1 & 2 quantified and reasonably assured, climate governance built into the Board and risk framework, disclosure integrated into the mainstream report. The frontier: Scope 3 / financed emissions and climate scenario analysis are deferred under transitional relief, and a dated emissions-reduction target is not yet set.
Sources: Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC Integrated Annual Report 2025 (year ended 31 December 2025) — SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures (pp.141–171); Ernst & Young Independent Practitioner’s Limited Assurance Report (SLSAE 3000 (Revised), 27 February 2026); Sri Lanka Climate Fund GHG Verification Report (ISO 14064-1:2018 / 14064-3:2019, p.163); Corporate Information; Financial Highlights (Table 02); company investor information (market capitalisation).
Key takeaways
— The basis is clean: this reads Commercial Bank’s CY2025 report — its first mandatory SLFRS S1 & S2 year — a genuine mandatory-cohort filing, not a voluntary-era snapshot.
— The Bank quantifies its own-operations emissions (Scope 1 862 tCO₂e, Scope 2 6,173 tCO₂e) and has them verified by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund at reasonable level — the higher assurance tier — while the wider SLFRS narrative carries EY limited assurance.
— Two of SLFRS S2’s hardest asks are deferred under the standard’s own transitional relief: Scope 3 / financed emissions (Note 9) and climate scenario analysis. Both are disclosed as deliberate, dated deferrals — not silent omissions — and the Bank has joined PCAF to begin baselining financed emissions.
— Climate governance is real, not boilerplate: a Board Sustainability Committee was established in 2025 and climate risk is embedded in the ICAAP and enterprise risk framework.
— Where the filing stops short: a dated green-finance target (Rs.100bn by 2030) exists, but there is no quantified emissions-reduction target with a baseline year and deadline, and the net-zero ambition for own operations is undated.
Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC is the largest listed bank in Sri Lanka by market capitalisation and the largest private-sector bank by assets, which makes its first mandatory sustainability filing the natural reference point for how the sector is adopting the new standard. This is the Bank’s 57th annual report and its first prepared under the mandatory SLFRS S1 and S2 regime.
This profile assesses the quality of the disclosure — whether the report meets the requirements of SLFRS S1 and S2 — not the Bank’s underlying sustainability performance, which no published report can certify. It is based on Commercial Bank’s Integrated Annual Report 2025 for the year ended 31 December 2025, and on the independent assurance reports published alongside it. Every finding below concerns what the report does and does not say.

The Business, Briefly

Commercial Bank is a licensed commercial bank incorporated in 1969 and listed on the Colombo Stock Exchange since 1970, operating in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Maldives (through a subsidiary), and Myanmar (through a microfinance subsidiary and a representative office). For the year ended 31 December 2025, the Bank reported gross income of Rs.354.8bn, profit before tax of Rs.89.4bn, and profit after tax of Rs.58.5bn, with total assets of Rs.3,258bn and a return on equity of 19.51%. It remained comfortably above regulatory capital minima, with a total capital ratio of 16.70% and CET1 of 13.04%. The Bank employs 5,726 people. Scale is why its disclosure matters: a balance sheet of this size carries the sector’s largest concentration of financed activity, which is precisely what SLFRS S2 is designed to make visible — and precisely what a first-year filing is permitted to defer.
Source: Financial Highlights, Table 02 (Bank, year ended 31 December 2025); Corporate Information.

Disclosure and Frameworks

Commercial Bank states that its sustainability-related disclosures are prepared “in accordance with” the SLFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards as issued by CA Sri Lanka — the strong compliance formulation, rather than the softer “with reference to.” The disclosures are anchored in the Integrated Reporting <IR> Framework, indexed against the GRI Standards at the Comprehensive level (Annex 4), and mapped to the UN SDGs. Materiality is assessed on a double-materiality basis: financial materiality applied per the SLFRS S1 principle — with quantitative and qualitative thresholds set out in the report — and impact materiality mapped alongside it, a wider lens than SLFRS’s single financial-materiality requirement. The materiality methodology was reviewed and approved at the Board and BIRMC levels.
On assurance, the Bank assembles a three-part stack and is candid about its limits. KPMG audits the financial statements. Ernst & Young provides limited assurance over the SLFRS S1 and S2 disclosures — the governance, strategy, risk-management and metrics content — under SLSAE 3000 (Revised), concluding on 27 February 2026 that it was “not aware of any material modifications” needed for the disclosures to accord with the standard. Separately, the Sri Lanka Climate Fund verifies the Scope 1 and Scope 2 GHG inventory to a reasonable level in accordance with ISO 14064-1:2018 and ISO 14064-3:2019. The honest reading is that the emissions numbers carry a higher grade of assurance than the surrounding narrative, and that no single reasonable-level opinion yet spans both the words and the numbers — a limitation the report does not hide.
Source: SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures — Basis of materiality (Section 4) and Basis of preparation; Independent Practitioner’s Assurance Report (EY, 27 February 2026); Annex 4 (GRI content index); Annex 7 (Independent Assurance Reports).

Environmental

Commercial Bank measures and discloses its greenhouse gas emissions in accordance with the GHG Protocol Corporate Standard, ISO 14064-1:2018, and SLFRS S2, using the financial control approach consistent with its financial statement consolidation. On a Bank basis, it reports Scope 1 (direct) emissions of 862 tCO₂e — up from 630 in 2024 — and Scope 2 (location-based, purchased electricity) emissions of 6,173 tCO₂e, down from 6,669. Utility power consumption underlying Scope 2 was 48,941 GJ. The Scope 1 and Scope 2 inventory is verified by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund at a reasonable assurance level — the higher of the two SLSAE tiers — a meaningful credibility marker for the numbers that anchor the environmental disclosure. On a Group financial-control basis, the combined total is 7,398 tCO₂e.
Scope 3 is where the report exercises the standard’s flexibility. The Bank discloses only Scope 1 and Scope 2, applying the transitional relief under SLFRS S2 (Appendix C, Section C4(b)) to defer Scope 3 for its first two mandatory reporting periods, and explicitly cross-referencing the deferral to Note 9. This is the right way to use relief: stated plainly, dated, and mapped to the clause that permits it, rather than left as a silent gap. For a bank, the material Scope 3 is financed emissions — the carbon embedded in its loan book — and the report signals that this work has begun: the Bank joined PCAF in 2025 and has started establishing a financed-emissions baseline and analysing the loan portfolio for high-emitting sectors. The disclosure is therefore an absence with a plan attached, which is the most a first-year filing can honestly claim.
Source: SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures — Metrics and targets, GHG emissions (Table 30, Table 31) and Transitional Reliefs (Note 9); GHG Verification Report (p.163); Annex 5 (five-year sustainability footprint).

Social

At the Bank level, Commercial Bank employs 5,726 people, of whom 33.11% (1,896) are women. The social disclosures are indexed to the GRI Standards at the Comprehensive level and presented with multi-year comparatives in Annex 5, improving readability. These metrics fall outside the SLFRS S1/S2 climate scope and the EY assurance boundary, and are not third-party verified; ESGNexus records them as company-stated.
One data-quality note: the report states an average of 6 training hours per employee, yet its disclosed total of 192,584 training hours across 5,726 staff members implies roughly 34 hours per employee — an internal inconsistency in a GRI social metric. It does not bear on the SLFRS S1/S2 grade above, but a reader reconciling the figures should be aware of it.
Source: Annex 5 (GRI disclosures, five-year summary); workforce disclosures.

Governance

Governance is the strongest area in this filing, and the disclosure is specific rather than aspirational. The Board comprises 11 directors, of whom 9 (81.82%) are independent non-executive directors and 2 are executive (the Managing Director/CEO and the Director/Chief Operating Officer); 3 directors (27.27%) are women. No single controlling shareholder is disclosed. Most relevant to the standard, the Bank established a Board Sustainability Committee in 2025 to provide strategic guidance on its sustainability strategy, roadmap, targets and KPIs. It oversees climate and broader environmental and social risk through the Board Integrated Risk Management Committee. Climate risk has been integrated into the Internal Capital Adequacy Assessment Process (ICAAP) and the enterprise risk-management framework. The Board’s activity on climate — reviewing and approving the Climate Risk Management Policy and Procedure, a Financed Emissions Framework and the SLFRS materiality methodology — is set out concretely in the disclosure. This is the kind of board-level climate governance SLFRS S1 and S2 ask for: a named committee, a defined mandate, and a documented trail of decisions, rather than a paragraph asserting that “the Board takes sustainability seriously.”
Source: SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures — Governance section; Corporate Information (Board of Directors and Board Committees); Risk governance and management.

How We Assess the Disclosure

ESGNexus grades disclosure completeness against a published, equal-weighted, page-referenced checklist of seven criteria drawn from SLFRS S1 and S2 (Disclosure Grading Methodology v1.1). We assess what the report does and does not disclose — not the Bank’s underlying performance. Each criterion is scored Present (1), Partial (0.5) or Absent (0), or N/A where it genuinely does not apply. Under the v1.1 first-year reliefs rule, a quantified Scope 3 disclosure scores Present, an explicit dated deferral under the transitional relief scores Partial, and silence scores Absent. The full checklist below is reproducible: the same report and this rubric should yield the same result.
#Criterion (SLFRS S1/S2)ScoreBasis — what the report does or does not disclose
1Materiality assessment disclosed, with method shownPresent (1)Double-materiality basis; SLFRS S1 financial-materiality principle with quantitative and qualitative thresholds (Table 26); Board/BIRMC-approved methodology.
2Scope 1 and Scope 2 GHG emissions quantified, with methodologyPresent (1)Scope 1 862 tCO₂e and Scope 2 6,173 tCO₂e (Bank); GHG Protocol / ISO 14064-1 / IPCC AR6, financial-control approach; reasonable-level verification by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund (p.163).
3Scope 3 / financed emissions disclosed or explicitly deferredPartial (0.5)No quantified Scope 3 disclosure; the Bank elects the SLFRS S2 transitional relief as an explicit, dated deferral (Appendix C, C4(b); Note 9) for the first two mandatory periods, and has joined PCAF (2025) to begin baselining financed emissions. Under the v1.1 first-year reliefs rule a transparent, dated deferral earns half credit — a filed relief paragraph is not a measured inventory.
4Climate scenario analysis actually performedAbsent (0)Not performed. A roadmap is disclosed and the two-year transitional relief applied; physical- and transition-risk assessment frameworks are in place, but formal scenario analysis with stated scenarios is not yet done.
5Board-level climate governance described concretelyPresent (1)Board Sustainability Committee established 2025; BIRMC oversight; climate risk integrated into ICAAP and enterprise risk-management framework — a specific structure, not boilerplate.
6Quantified targets with baseline year and target datePartial (0.5)A dated green-finance target (Rs.100bn by 2030) and a net-zero own-operations ambition are disclosed, but there is no quantified emissions-reduction target with both a baseline year and a deadline.
7Integration: mainstream financial report vs. quarantined standalone CSR sectionPresent (1)The SLFRS disclosures sit within the Integrated Annual Report (pp.141–171), connected to strategy, governance and risk, with a compliance index (Annex 3), GRI index (Annex 4) and assurance (Annex 7) — not quarantined in a standalone CSR chapter.
Total: 5.0 / 7 = 0.71 → Substantial.
A “Substantial” band means the report discloses the required elements; it is not a statement that the Bank asserts full SLFRS compliance. Commercial Bank reports “in accordance with” SLFRS S1 & S2 — the strong formulation — but two SLFRS S2 elements (Scope 3 / financed emissions and climate scenario analysis) are deferred under transitional relief, and no emissions-reduction target with a baseline year and deadline is set.
Alongside the checklist, we characterise the disclosure on four qualitative dimensions — completeness, comparability, credibility and candour — each rated against cited evidence. These carry the nuances the checklist score does not, including the assurance split and the first-year deferrals.
DimensionAssessmentBasis (as disclosed)
CompletenessDevelopingCurrent-state E, S and G data are present (Scope 1 & 2 quantified, p.163; workforce and board data, Annex 5 and Corporate Information), but the forward-looking climate disclosures are incomplete: Scope 3 / financed emissions and climate scenario analysis are both deferred, and no dated emissions-reduction target is set (pp.141–171; Note 9).
ComparabilitySolidPrepared “in accordance with” SLFRS S1 & S2; GRI Standards (Comprehensive, Annex 4); Integrated Reporting <IR>; emissions on the GHG Protocol / ISO 14064-1 / IPCC AR6 basis; multi-year comparatives (Annex 5) allow year-on-year and peer comparison on recognised bases.
CredibilitySolidScope 1 & 2 inventory reasonable-assured by the Sri Lanka Climate Fund (ISO 14064-3, p.163); SLFRS S1/S2 narrative limited-assured by Ernst & Young (SLSAE 3000, 27 February 2026). Caveat: no single reasonable-level opinion spans both the narrative and the numbers, and the social metrics are unassured.
CandourSolidDeferrals are stated explicitly and dated, cross-referenced to the enabling relief clause (Note 9), rather than left as silent gaps. Caveats: a first-year filing with limited adverse disclosure, and one internally inconsistent training-hours figure (noted above).

Where the Disclosure Leads — and Where It Lags

On completeness of own-operations reporting, the filing leads: Scope 1 and Scope 2 are quantified using a stated methodology and carry reasonable-level third-party verification. On governance and integration, it is strong — a purpose-built Board committee, climate risk wired into the ICAAP, and all disclosures placed within the mainstream Integrated Annual Report, with compliance, GRI, and assurance indices attached. On forward-looking disclosure, it lags by design: climate scenario analysis is roadmapped but not performed, and Scope 3 and financed emissions are deferred — both under the transitional reliefs the standard itself provides, and both disclosed as explicit, dated deferrals. On targets, it is partial: a dated green-finance growth target exists, but the emissions side lacks a quantified reduction target with a baseline year and a deadline, and the net-zero own-operations ambition is undated. The result is a report that honestly discloses what it has done and plainly states what it has deferred — the profile of a credible first-year adopter rather than a finished one.

What This Means for Investors, Peers and Regulators

For investors, the report provides verified own-operations emissions and a genuine governance structure, but not yet the two disclosures that most affect a bank’s climate risk — financed emissions and scenario-tested resilience — so any climate view formed on this filing is necessarily provisional, and next year’s report will carry the weight. For peers, it sets a workable first-year template: use the transitional reliefs, but date them, cross-reference the enabling clause, and pair the deferral with visible groundwork (here, PCAF membership and a baseline in progress). For regulators, the filing marks exactly where the SLFRS regime will have to tighten as the reliefs expire — Scope 3 for financial institutions, scenario analysis, and quantified, dated decarbonisation targets — and shows that a large bank can meet the governance and Scope 1–2 requirements in year one while those harder elements are phased in.
A first mandatory filing is a baseline, not a verdict. Commercial Bank’s CY2025 report is graded Substantial: it discloses its own emissions credibly, governs climate risk concretely, and defers the hardest disclosures openly and on the standard’s own terms. The test of the standard — and of this Bank — is what the second mandatory report adds, where this one, lawfully, left space.

Sources & Further Reading

Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC — Integrated Annual Report 2025 (year ended 31 December 2025) — SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures (pp.141–171).
Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC — Ernst & Young Independent Practitioner’s Limited Assurance Report on the SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures (SLSAE 3000 (Revised), 27 February 2026).
Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC — Sri Lanka Climate Fund GHG Verification Report (ISO 14064-1:2018 / ISO 14064-3:2019).
Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC — Annex 3 (Compliance with SLFRS Sustainability-related Financial Disclosures), Annex 4 (GRI content index), Annex 5 (sustainability footprint), Annex 7 (Independent Assurance Reports).
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka — SLFRS S1 & S2 Sustainability Disclosure Standards — casrilanka.com.
ESGNexus — Disclosure Grading Methodology v1.1 — esgnexus.lk/how-we-grade/.
About ESGNexus
ESGNexus is Sri Lanka’s independent platform for ESG, CSR, and sustainability intelligence. We track company-level ESG performance, regulatory developments, and sustainability data across Sri Lanka’s listed companies, large unlisted corporates, and state-owned enterprises. All editorial content is independently produced. Sponsored content is clearly labelled.
Data disclaimer: This profile is compiled from Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC’s publicly available reports and other public sources, for general information only. It is not investment advice and not a comprehensive audit of the company’s sustainability performance. ESGNexus does not independently verify company disclosures; figures are as reported by the company and its assurance providers. Assessments reflect the quality of disclosure, not a certification of underlying performance. ESGNexus corrects errors promptly; to flag one, contact the editorial team. Errors and omissions excepted.
Share this articleLinkedInWhatsAppXEmail

Discover more from ESGNexus

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Stay ahead of Sri Lanka's ESG agenda

Join sustainability officers, investors, and policy professionals who read The ESGNexus Weekly every Friday.